Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Support and Discussion for HF2-SU3S2 ProBox - For PC Users

Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Postby jriggins » February 6th, 2020, 10:03 pm

Bought Two HF2-SU3S2 units at the same time. Unboxed them last weekend. Hooked up via eSata to a RocketRAID 642L (supports port multiplier) running Windows Server 2016.
Single RAID-5 array configured across all 8 drives.
Initially it hooked up and ran fine. Was able to access the RAID volume and transferred data to the drives for about 20 minutes. Then, the second unit powered off. Now it doesn't power up correctly - never seems to initialize the drives at all.
Swapped eSata cables around and reseated all the HDDs.
Video of exactly what is happening: https://youtu.be/__O9U6hIQaQ

Not sure what else to try...any thoughts?
jriggins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 2nd, 2020, 1:32 pm

Re: Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » February 7th, 2020, 3:00 pm

Don't think your esata card is working properly
the 2nd box turned off, because it did not detect a computer. The "e" icon (eSata connection icon) on left of front panel, didn't light up.
the top box did light up (that is why didn't turn off)

try switching to USB and see if you can access the a hard drive ( spare hard drive)
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Postby jriggins » February 7th, 2020, 8:29 pm

Plugged the second unit in via USB and powered it up. Switched Interface Mode to 2, but it still behaves the same.
jriggins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 2nd, 2020, 1:32 pm

Re: Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » February 7th, 2020, 11:24 pm

jriggins wrote:Plugged the second unit in via USB and powered it up. Switched Interface Mode to 2, but it still behaves the same.


did you use a spare drive??
cause USB won't work with Raid 5 or any Raid you created from eSata
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: Two HF2-SU3S2 units, 1 doesn't power up the drives now

Postby jriggins » February 8th, 2020, 2:07 pm

(with the USB connection) Shouldn't it still power up the drives, present them to the operating system and allow me to reformat them?
jriggins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 2nd, 2020, 1:32 pm


Return to HF2-SU3S2 ProBox - For PC Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests