4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Support and Discussion for HF2-SU3S2 ProBox - For PC Users

4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby deanras » December 31st, 2014, 10:17 pm

I tried formatting 4TB drives different ways within OSX, but the drives show up with about half the capacity when I install them into the hf2-su3s2 enclosure. I'm running 10.10.1 on a Macbook Pro and I used a GUID Partition Table when formatting. I also tried the other formatting options too, but none of them work. 2TB drives have worked great--only the 4TB drives don't work in the enclosure.

I'm assuming I need a firmware update in order for the 4TB drives to work. My box is from 2 or 3 years ago. I can send you my serial number if you'd like. Can someone please tell me how to update the firmware?

Thanks,
Dean
deanras
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Re: 4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby deanras » January 12th, 2015, 9:28 am

Looks like nobody knows why a 4TB drive only shows up as 2.2TB within the Mediasonic enclosure. I am using GPT to partition and format it within the Mediasonic enclosure, so that is not the issue. The drive is not from a different external enclosure, so that is not the issue. I remember someone else had a similar problem and after they updated the firmware the problem went away.

Can someone please tell me how to update the firmware?
deanras
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Re: 4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » January 14th, 2015, 10:55 am

email your serial # and link to this post

rma_east AT mediasonic.ca
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: 4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby deanras » January 14th, 2015, 8:24 pm

Sent to that address.
deanras
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Re: 4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby deanras » January 15th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Thank you! Updating the firmware fixed this issue.
deanras
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Re: 4TB Drives not showing full capacity

Postby timmay75 » October 5th, 2017, 5:17 pm

I have this model and am having issues with it. Can someone please help me find a firmware update for it? It has been sitting for awhile in the closet and would like use it again. When I install any drives the +h error light comes on red and the device goes silent. Please help.
timmay75
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 5th, 2017, 5:06 pm


Return to HF2-SU3S2 Probox - For Mac Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron