new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Support and Discussion for HFR2-SU3S2 ProRaid - For PC Users

new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » November 28th, 2014, 4:32 pm

Hi,

I've had to replace 3 out of 4 drives in my box and now the system will power up for a few seconds and then goes into a "suspended" mode. the H+ error sign is also showing but there are no hard drive error lights showing either.

Any ideas how i can get the box to stay on?
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » November 28th, 2014, 4:40 pm

Which Raid mode you are using?
if you had to replace 3 drives. It won't rebuild, you need to create a new Raid array
most Raid modes only allow 1 disk fail to be able to rebuild. More then 1 disk fail, you can't rebuild
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » November 28th, 2014, 4:43 pm

i'm using raid 5. i've changed the raid mode to another mode but it still won't change.

is there another way to clear the old array is any way?
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » November 28th, 2014, 5:39 pm

instructions

1st make sure enclosure is connected to a Computer that is ON
and then do this

power on the Enclosure and press and hold MODE button on the front until LED flashes. Press it again to select the RAID mode you want then press the Raid Confirmation button on the back panel until the device shuts down. Power on the device again and the RAID mode set-up is completed.
just need to partition and format the Raid after you turn enclosure back on

Raid confirmation button is hidden in the back so find that 1st, before you start
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » November 28th, 2014, 6:24 pm

thanks. that doesn't seemed to have changed anything.

I've got a video of what i am seeing.

Image

as you can see the H+ light comes on but no hard drive error lights appear.

*edit* seems the video isn't active yet.
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » November 28th, 2014, 9:02 pm

what Raid mode are you changing too now?
and what drives you have? size?
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » November 29th, 2014, 9:40 am

changed it to another raid lever first. ive tried 3 and 10.

all 4 are 3tb seagate drives. same as what came out of it originally as they were replaced under warranty
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » November 29th, 2014, 1:38 pm

seems like i can change it to raid mode 3 now and it will say on and the computer will recognize it.

is there a way to physically wipe the last original drive so that they might all read the same?
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby Admin_Mediasonic » November 29th, 2014, 8:22 pm

springs wrote:seems like i can change it to raid mode 3 now and it will say on and the computer will recognize it.

is there a way to physically wipe the last original drive so that they might all read the same?


Do Raid 0 stripping with 4 drives
Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Postby springs » December 1st, 2014, 3:45 pm

hoping that i've attached the video to the thread.

Image
springs
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Next

Return to HFR2-SU3S2 ProRaid - For PC Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest