new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Support and Discussion for HFR2-SU3S2 ProRaid - For PC Users
springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

Hi,

I've had to replace 3 out of 4 drives in my box and now the system will power up for a few seconds and then goes into a "suspended" mode. the H+ error sign is also showing but there are no hard drive error lights showing either.

Any ideas how i can get the box to stay on?

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1817
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

Which Raid mode you are using?
if you had to replace 3 drives. It won't rebuild, you need to create a new Raid array
most Raid modes only allow 1 disk fail to be able to rebuild. More then 1 disk fail, you can't rebuild

springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

i'm using raid 5. i've changed the raid mode to another mode but it still won't change.

is there another way to clear the old array is any way?

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1817
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

instructions

1st make sure enclosure is connected to a Computer that is ON
and then do this

power on the Enclosure and press and hold MODE button on the front until LED flashes. Press it again to select the RAID mode you want then press the Raid Confirmation button on the back panel until the device shuts down. Power on the device again and the RAID mode set-up is completed.
just need to partition and format the Raid after you turn enclosure back on

Raid confirmation button is hidden in the back so find that 1st, before you start

springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

thanks. that doesn't seemed to have changed anything.

I've got a video of what i am seeing.

Image

as you can see the H+ light comes on but no hard drive error lights appear.

*edit* seems the video isn't active yet.

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1817
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

what Raid mode are you changing too now?
and what drives you have? size?

springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

changed it to another raid lever first. ive tried 3 and 10.

all 4 are 3tb seagate drives. same as what came out of it originally as they were replaced under warranty

springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

seems like i can change it to raid mode 3 now and it will say on and the computer will recognize it.

is there a way to physically wipe the last original drive so that they might all read the same?

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1817
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

springs wrote:seems like i can change it to raid mode 3 now and it will say on and the computer will recognize it.

is there a way to physically wipe the last original drive so that they might all read the same?
Do Raid 0 stripping with 4 drives

springs
Posts: 7
Joined: October 22nd, 2014, 2:35 pm

Re: new disks and unit won't stay powered on

Post by springs »

hoping that i've attached the video to the thread.

Image

Post Reply

Return to “HFR2-SU3S2 ProRaid - For PC Users”