Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Support and Discussion for HUR3-SU3S3 ProRaid - For PC Users
Post Reply
ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

Hi

I ran my HUR3-SU3S3 as RAID 0 for over a year without significant incidents. Then it just stopped working [Note: The data is gone, but it had no value anyway -- just temporary storage]. The drive lights flash red and purple and the unit turns itself off after about two minutes. I can change the RAID setting, but it makes no difference to the reboot. Okay fine, I assume something is broken.

But the two drives both work fine using a SATA to USB connector direct to my PC.
And a new (same model) enclosure didn't work any better.

If the drives are fine, the enclosure is fine and the power is fine, what else is there? Does the enclosure demand more than just functionality from the drives?

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1818
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

get hard disk sentinel
check both drives health % level and SMART Info

try both drives in Single mode

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

Connecting the drives via the USB/SATA connector, both drives show 100% health and every S.M.A.R.T. rating is OK

Oh, and both drives were tried in single mode. Neither worked.

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1818
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

after you turn the enclosure on
which LEDS are on
take a picture of front panel, after you turn it on

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

The drive was made in Dec 2010 though. Could the health rating simply be wrong?

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

Sorry. Missed your other reply. Take a picture when? Right at the start?

Different drive lights flash at different times at the begining. Then both drive lights go out and it sits there for a minute and then the power light goes orange.

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1818
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

ikmarwright wrote:Sorry. Missed your other reply. Take a picture when? Right at the start?

Different drive lights flash at different times at the begining. Then both drive lights go out and it sits there for a minute and then the power light goes orange.
yes a picture of the front panel, right after you turn enclosure on

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

The shutdown process is faster than I though it was. It takes 30 second from start to end.

After both lights come on. They stay blue for a number of seconds, flash red/purple and turning of. Then ten seconds later the device turns off.

Dave
Attachments
Second 2.jpg
Second 2.jpg (97.98 KiB) Viewed 11654 times
After a second
After a second
Second 1.jpg (98.94 KiB) Viewed 11654 times
As soon as I turn it on - Sorry for the blur, my camera doesn't focus fast enough
As soon as I turn it on - Sorry for the blur, my camera doesn't focus fast enough
Startup.jpg (81.9 KiB) Viewed 11654 times

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

Any insight? Or should I just invest in new drives and cross my fingers?

ikmarwright
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Re: Enclosure flashes drive errors, but drives seem fine

Post by ikmarwright »

Since I got no new feedback, I bought two new drives. No difference in the old enclosure. I'll try the new enclosure tomorrow.

Post Reply

Return to “HUR3-SU3S3 ProRaid - For PC Users”