Help! unable to access drives

Support and Discussion for HF2-SU3S2 ProBox - For PC Users
Post Reply
greatdeals_007
Posts: 3
Joined: January 31st, 2015, 9:06 am

Help! unable to access drives

Post by greatdeals_007 »

Hi

I have a 4 drive bay model HF2-SU3S2 connected to desktop running windows 7 64 bit OS.

suddenly the drives do not appear in windows explorer.
I have tried rebooting
checking cables
moving USB port

does anyone know how to fix this issue?
if you can please send detailed troubleshooting steps.

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: Help! unable to access drives

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

remove all your drives
test 1 drive at a time in slot #1
see which drives works and which does not

greatdeals_007
Posts: 3
Joined: January 31st, 2015, 9:06 am

Re: Help! unable to access drives

Post by greatdeals_007 »

Hi

1 bad drive can cause the entire unit not to be recognized?
can I populate drives 1 at a time with the unit or does it have to be powered off each time?
what is the proper way to turn off or disconnect the unit from the desktop?

Admin_Mediasonic
Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Re: Help! unable to access drives

Post by Admin_Mediasonic »

yes, 1 bad drive can cause problem to whole enclosure.
test 1 drive at a time in slot 1. Better turn off enclosure.
if hard drive is detected, Proper way is to eject the drive, before turning off (that is how Microsoft wants people to do with USB drives. But people simply turn it off)

Post Reply

Return to “HF2-SU3S2 ProBox - For PC Users”